Home » Introspection » Whose life is it anyway??

Whose life is it anyway??

I have been feeling so miserable lately (i.e., months, maybe). I feel jerked around and at the mercy of some sadistic god who just likes to see me unhappy. (Understand, that is not my view of God (capital G)…but I feel like someone else has been running my life.)  When I took a second to step back and look at my life, it seems that NO ONE has been running it.  No wonder it feels so out of control and disorganized.  I let work dictate my day until it is done (6a-6p)…then I let the children dictate my day til they’re asleep (6p-8/9p). And by then, the only master I’m serving is my overwhelming exhaustion.  Which leaves very little time during the week for anything else.  And on the weekends, I sit, like a fly trap, waiting for something interesting to stick to me.  I realized (just today) that I have been taking such a passive role in my life…waiting for things to happen and just letting them happen.  I need to take life by the horns and start making it my own. This little gem of information is what sparked my awareness: http://newlyweds.about.com/od/gettingalong/ss/lifebalance_2.htm. It seems so simple…like a no-brainer.  But I guess I just needed someone to tell me, “You call the shots!”

Leave a Reply

