Home » Mom Madness » To the person who left the generous gift on our porch

To the person who left the generous gift on our porch

Image

Thank you!

While I had an entire tirade dictated for the person who stole the shoes, I can only come up with two words for you…and they seem so inadequate.  Yet, I feel like even if I wrote a book, it would not be able to capture what I am feeling.

I was on call overnight Saturday to Sunday.  Right before I went to bed at 10, I noticed Kaleb was running a fever. I gave him some ibuprofen and went to sleep. I was nervous about missing a call, so I slept lightly. I woke up at 4am and took Kaleb’s temp again; it was still high.  I gave him some more ibuprofen and had some trouble going back to sleep.  Just as I was dozing off at almost 5am, my husband came in our room and said that he went downstairs to get a drink, heard the sprinklers running, and looked out the window to make sure they were working properly.  That was when he noticed the bag on our front porch near the bushes.  He woke me up and showed me the note and the shoes.  I was overwhelmed by the gesture.  I immediately went to Kaleb’s room and roused the poor, sick kid.  (He told me later that he thought that was a dream.)  Abid and I read the note over and over, analyzing the handwriting and trying to figure out who could have done this.  We still don’t know.

I am humbled by your gift, your kindness, compassion, and thoughtfulness.  Your gift was the exact opposite of everything that was encompassed in the theft.  I was almost moved to tears.  All of the negative emotion that I felt after Kaleb’s shoes got stolen has been replaced with a greater amount of warmth and gratitude.

I can’t even put my feelings into words other than THANK YOU!  Thank you so much for reaching out to my son with such selflessness.  Thank you for using your own resources to replace what was lost.  Thank you for your kind words.  Thank you for the shoes.  Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

With sincerest gratitude,

A mother touched beyond words

One thought on “To the person who left the generous gift on our porch

  1. I WAS moved to tears! It’s the sweet spirit of a compassionate person that means so much. Thank you for posting this; it’s much more powerful to hear about the good than the bad.

Leave a Reply

