Home » Uplifting » The day I was attacked by a pit bull

The day I was attacked by a pit bull

image

It was the second day of picking my kids up at my brother-&-sister-in-law’s. I pulled into the parking spot between 2 houses and turned off my car. I was finishing up a conversation with my mom, Bluetooth in my ear, when I saw something out of the corner of my eye. Out of nowhere I saw a massive dog bounding toward my car. He wasn’t barking…he even looked like he was smiling…but he was still huge…and running right at my car. I didn’t see anyone around and I had no idea where he came from. He looked like a pit bull and I immediately become nervous. He disappeared for a moment and I whipped my head around, trying to find him and figure out how I was going to get out of the car. Suddenly, his giant head appeared…right outside my driver’s side window. This wild beast was jumping on my car! This crazy animal was bouncing up and down like a maniac…and even though I was terrified he was going to eat me, all I could think about was the damage he was doing to my car door. I had to stop him! Even though I could envision him mauling my face, I slowly opened the door and put out my hand, telling him to get down. He immediately came to my open door…and began licking my hand. Then he tried to CLIMB IN MY LAP! I pushed him off of me and got out of the car, laughing as I described this unbelievable scenario to my mom. No sooner had I stepped out of the car than this overgrown puppy climbed into my seat, crossed into the back seat, and sat down, looking out the windshield like he was ready to go for a drive. At this point I was laughing hysterically in disbelief, looking around to see if anyone was witnessing this (or to see if I was being punked). I opened the back door and matter-of-factly told him to get down. The “ferocious beast” obeyed and started jumping on me and licking me, begging to play. I started walking to my in-laws’ house and he followed me, bouncing the whole way. When my sister-in-law began to open the door, I gave her a little warning, but not before the dog pushed his massive head through the door. I squeezed in and she shut him out. I couldn’t stop laughing!

It turns out “Papa” is a 2-yr-old, 95 lb., blue nosed pit bull who belongs to their neighbor (who offered to pay for any damage to my car). I know this breed has a bad reputation, but this dog was one of the sweetest dogs I’ve ever met. He might be a show dog, but he was definitely no watch dog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

