Home » Uncategorized » Accentuate the Positive

Accentuate the Positive

Boys and Girls,

We’re going to play a little game tonight that I like to call Accentuate the Positive. Take a gander below at the less-than-stellar evening Jamie is having.

Running late from work so I had to pick Aria up before Zain. After getting Zain, I decided Chipotle would make an acceptable meat-free Friday option, so we went there. Line was ridiculous, Aria was manic, so after about 5 minutes we left. I was annoyed; Aria was crying. Decided to stop by taco bell drive thru instead. As I’m approaching taco bell, I realize I missed a call from Kaleb at 6:15…at which time he was supposed to be with his youth group. I called him (now 45 minutes later) and found out he was still at home…even tho when I talked to him at 5 He gave me no indication that there was a problem…that he needed transportation at 6….when I was in Avalon getting Aria. I pulled up at the house (after not having stopped at taco bell), only to learn that I needed to wait 30 more minutes to drop him off. So I drove back to taco bell…where I was 6th in the drive thru line. I just got the food…and now both the kids are asleep. And I still have to pick up and drop off Kaleb. This has been the most absurd 2 hours of wasted life….

Awww…how sad. But…with a tiny bit of effort, Jamie can turn her frown upside down. All she has to do is [cue the audience] ACCENTUATE THE POSITIVE!!

Let’s look at Jamie’s day from another perspective:

Running late from work THIS MEANS THAT JAMIE HAS A JOB. THAT’S A BIG DEAL NOWADAYS so I had to pick Aria up before Zain BUT SHE GOT ARIA IN TIME…HOORAY FOR NO LATE FEES. After getting Zain FROM GRANDMA’S HOUSE WHERE HE IS TREATED WITH THE UTMOST TLC (AND WHERE THERE ARE NO LATE FEES), I decided Chipotle would make an acceptable meat-free Friday option…LUCKY FOR HER SHE HAS THAT JOB AND IS ON BIG BALLER STATUS (I.E., PAYDAY FRIDAY) AND CAN EVEN CONSIDER SUCH LUXURIES, so we went there. Line was ridiculous, Aria was manic, so after about 5 minutes we left AND NO ONE GOT HIT BY A CAR CROSSING THE PARKING LOT. I was annoyed; Aria was crying BUT ZAIN WASN’T. Decided to stop by taco bell drive thru instead COULDN’T USE A DRIVE THRU IF SHE DIDN’T HAVE A CAR MISS SUPER BIG BALLER. As I’m approaching taco bell, I realize I missed a call from Kaleb at 6:15…at which time he was supposed to be with his youth group AS OPPOSED TO ATTENDING A GANG INITIATION. I called him (now 45 minutes later) and found out he was still at home MISSING STATIONS OF THE CROSS…AS OPPOSED TO A DRIVE BY SHOOTING…even tho when I talked to him at 5 He gave me no indication that there was a problem BECAUSE HE WAS PERFECTLY FINE…that he needed transportation at 6….when I was in Avalon THE VERY NICE NEIGHBORHOOD SHE LIVES IN getting Aria…ON TIME, REMEMBER??. I pulled up at the house THAT SHE OWNS IN SAID NICE NEIGHBORHOOD (after not having stopped at taco bell), only to learn that I needed to wait 30 more minutes to drop him off. So I drove back to taco bell…where I was 6th in the drive thru line BUT SHE COULD HAVE BEEN 7TH. I just got the food…and now both the kids are asleep WHICH IS WAY BETTER THAN THEM CRYING, WHINING, AND BELLY ACHING ABOUT WHY SHE’S BEEN DRIVING AROUND FOR THE LAST HOUR LETTING THEM STARVE TO DEATH. And I still have to pick up and drop off Kaleb AT HIS YOUTH MINISTER’S HOUSE…WHERE HE’S DOING A 24-HOUR FAST AND COMMUNITY SERVICE. This has been the most absurd 2 hours of wasted life….BUT SHE’S GOT THREE GREAT KIDS AND NO ONE IS DEAD.

BONUS: WITH ALL THAT DRIVING, MOTHER NATURE WAS SILENTLY WORKING BEHIND THE SCENES, PLOTTING AGAINST JAMIE’S JUMBO TAMPON. BUT…NO WORRIES JAMIE…CAR UPHOLSTERY IS WASHABLE. AND…AT LEAST YOU’RE NOT PREGNANT!!!!! 🙂

It can still be a happy Friday after all…as long as you always remember to [say it with me] ACCENTUATE THE POSITIVE!!!

Thanks for playing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

